Steven Gerrard Anticipates That Joe Cole Will Help Liverpool Win More Trophies

Liverpool and England captain Steven Gerrard hopes that summer signing Joe Cole will help the Reds win some silverware this season.The Reds finished a disappointing seventh in the Premier League last season, and have not won a trophy since the 2006 FA Cup.

Gerrard is hoping that the addition of Cole, his team-mate with the Three Lions, will be key in helping Liverpool end their multi-year trophy drought.“It’s great to have another English player on board in Joe Cole,” Gerrard told the Daily Star.“I’ve played with him for a number of years and he’s a top player. “Hopefully he can help Liverpool to bring some more silverware to the club.

The England midfielder, whose spectacular double helped the Three Lions come back from a goal down to defeat Hungary 2-1 in their friendly on Wednesday.Gerrard hopes to achieve his individual goals for this season and achieve success with both club and country.

“At the beginning of every season I set myself personal targets, which I keep to myself. “But because I play for such a big club like Liverpool, it’s silverware that I’m after. “Hopefully, come the end of the season with England, we will be in the driving seat in our European Championship qualifying group. “If I get a trophy and we are top of the group with England it will be a satisfactory season for me. I need to win a big trophy. I don’t mind which – they’re all big.

The Merseyside native is keen to re-live the success he has enjoyed with the Reds, and is excited for the upcoming season to begin against Arsenal on Sunday.“I’m a local lad. I have experienced some fantastic nights as a Liverpool player winning trophies and I want to experience some more.“I’m 30 now so I want to try to get as many trophies as I can before I finish. I’m very excited by the new season and I’m looking forward to having a successful year.”

2 Comments

Filed under English Premier League, Liverpool Football Club

2 responses to “Steven Gerrard Anticipates That Joe Cole Will Help Liverpool Win More Trophies

  1. so all over the world has saw the benefit of joe cole..=)

  2. To be fair the referee was harsh on him. It was not a straight red mate

Leave a Reply

