Kuyt: My future is at Liverpool

Dirk Kuyt has responded to recent speculation by insisting: “My future is at Liverpool.” The Dutch forward struck a late winner in the Reds’ 2-1 Europa League success over Trabzonspor on Thursday night and then revealed that he plans to remain on Merseyside.

“Everyone has said a lot about my future but as far as I know my future is at Liverpool,” he said. “I’ve had a great time so far and I hope my future here will be great as well and I can win trophies with Liverpool.”

On an evening plagued by difficult weather conditions, Roy Hodgson’s side had looked in trouble when Teofilo Gutierrez struck an early opener.

However, an improved second-half showing eventually paid dividends through an own goal and Kuyt’s late tap-in. It means Liverpool have now progressed to the Europa League group stage and Kuyt insists it is a competition they are taking very seriously.

“It was a very disappointing first half and it was difficult to play on that pitch,” he said. “It rained all day. After we went 1-0 down we fought back, we were patient and waited for our chances. Obviously, we are very happy about the result. “It’s important for us to stay in Europe. We want to challenge for trophies and this is another competition we want to do well in.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Liverpool Football Club

Leave a Reply

